grow-up.jpg

When I grow up I want to…

be a star…

be a wife…

be a firefighter…

be a dad…

be a dentist…

Follow Jesus…

Do you think that we help our kids to understand that fully? Do we present them with a real sense of the deep call that He has on our lives?

When Jesus saw the crowd around him, he instructed his disciples to cross to the other side of the lake.
Then one of the teachers of religious law said to him, “Teacher, I will follow you wherever you go.”
But Jesus replied, “Foxes have dens to live in, and birds have nests, but the Son of Man has no place even to lay his head.”
Another of his disciples said, “Lord, first let me return home and bury my father.”
But Jesus told him, “Follow me now. Let the spiritually dead bury their own dead.”

I don’t know if the deep sense of priority that it is to follow Jesus gets communicated enough. I am not speaking of Evergreen specifically, but I am referring to the church at large. Is there a real priority put on following Jesus fully?

I would love to hear your thoughts.

